Carnatic/western fusion for classical dance-panchabhutatmaka

Classical Dance forms & related music
vini

Post by vini »

I am looking for good albums either ior both instrumental or vocal carnatic + western fusion. I would like to compose a few dances based on the theme Panch bhootam. Would like to get all your suggestions as to how to go about it. What I have in mind is to link this fusion music with each of the pancha bhootam and compose small dance production showing how these elements revolve in and around our life.

I sincerely want all your opinions and suggestion. This part of the world its difficult to compose music on your own and most of all I am still a student of classical music so would like to rely on released albums for the performance. The dance part will be composed by myself.

Incase you have come across this particular theme pls upload the performance ,it would be of immense help and a starting point for my production.

rshankar

Post by rshankar »

Vini,
VK or VJ maybe able to help you here, but what I can suggest is for you to attempt to alternate/combine (cut and paste with software), say, some of the charaNAs from the pancabhUta kritIs of MD with appropriate pieces of western music - for instance, the kritI on vAyulingam with Vivaldi's Spring (from his 4 seasons) and so on...appu linga kritI and Handel's 'Water Music' etc....
Keep us posted on how this evolves.
Ravi

mohan

Post by mohan »

On 21st May 2006, "Prakriti - The Dance of the Five Elements of Nature" was presented in Sydney by the Samskriti School of Dance. Music was specially compiled and composed for the dance drama.

The broad themes used were:
Space - Shiva's tandavam in Chidambaram
Water - Krishna's kaliya nardanam
Air - Stories of Pavan and his son Hanuman
Earth - The Story of Subramanya and Valli
Fire - The story of Kovalan and Kannagi

vini

Post by vini »