Post by cookmex »

Dear members,
are the beats of this tala: 2+2+2+3 ?

Thanks in advance.

Radhika-Rajnarayan

Re: trishra jhampe

Post by Radhika-Rajnarayan »

???
Surely, if you mean the jhampa talam with the format of laghu-anudrutam-drutam, it should be 3+1+2 where '3' is the laghu (one beat, 2 fingers together making tisra jathi), '1' is the anudrutam, and '2' is the drutam - a total of 6 beats?

Am I missing something? Laya experts, can you clarify?

Nick H

Post by Nick H »

I don't think you're missing anything --- but I am not an expert.

"beats" can be confusing word, and one that I have had many arguments about. Some would say that there are three beats in the tala structure that you describe, because they use the word to mean the same as clap. To me, this is an utterly confusing and confounding method.

I'm with you, and would say there are six beats.

Anyway.... You are an expert! :$

Radhika-Rajnarayan

Post by Radhika-Rajnarayan »

No, no , Nick - I protest - I am no expert at all, and a sinner to boot (do not practise enough) :$

Nick H

Post by Nick H »

Ha! I bet you knew the structure of jhampa tala without looking it up! :$ :$ :$

:lol:

mridhangam

Post by mridhangam »

The question by member cookmex is not clear. Whether the member is asking the angas for thisra jhampa or whether he is asking for a tala name with the numbers given below. As member radhika pointed out Thisra Jhampa has one laghu one anudrutam and one drutam making a total to 6 counts per cycle.

something closer to the one that the member has requested is available in 108 Chanda Talas by the name Jhampa which has 2 drutas, 1 anudruta and 1 laghu making the total to 9. 2+2+1+4 is the cycle for this Jhampa Tala. (cookmex member has mentioned 2+2+2+3) In the above tala the final 1 and 4 could be confusing sometimes as one beat and another beat for laghu following in succession and then 3 finger counts making the member to think it as 2 + 3.

Mannarkoil J Balaji

vasanthakokilam