How to keep a firm Taala???

Tālam & Layam related topics
vmkannan

How to keep a firm Taala???

Post by vmkannan »

Members,
I have been learning Mridangam for about 10 years. My main problem is that I leave out on Taala.. I have no problems in Keeping the taala for Sarva Laghus but i miss out when some one plays kanakkus..
Especially i leave out on complicated korvais, Gathis and edam korvais create a lot of problem..
Please advice and help me out..

V M Kannan

Nick H

Re: How to keep a firm Taala???

Post by Nick H »

As they say, "tell me about it!"... It is a matter of wonder to me that professional musicians not only keep the beat accurately but also know where they are in the talam, especially those whose instrument does not leave a free hand for practice. I have nothing to offer but sympathy.

As a mridangam student, you will already know the lessons for practice of tala with off-beat composition. The korvais, of course, are such lessons in themselves.

cmlover

Post by cmlover »

This is a very interesting topic.
Let us hear from our taala experts so that we may also learn the secrets!

msakella

Post by msakella »