How to put thalam for this thillana?

Tālam & Layam related topics
ducktyper

How to put thalam for this thillana?

Post by ducktyper »

I'm a beginner trying to learn about thalam. I read about the angas (dhrutam, laghu, etc.), the 7 talams, and the 5 gatis. I read that adi thalam is the same as chatushra triputa thalam, which is 1 chatushra laghu + 1 dhrutam + 1 dhrutam. This would be tap, little finger, ring finger, middle finger, tap, wave, tap, wave, which would be 4 + 2 + 2 (if you put a plus wherever there is a pause). Please correct me if any of this is wrong.

I saw videos where you put thalam for alankarams in some ragas, and this seems simple enough. But I'm not able to progress to putting thalam to more complex songs. I really like this paras thillana, and would appreciate it if someone could tell me where all avartanams start and end in this song? I think it's adi thalam (since most thillanas seem to be in adi), but I'm not really sure.

TM Krishna sings this thillana here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quYvpJrCqPg

I got these lyrics from https://arpanarts.wordpress.com/2008/10 ... -material/:

pallavi
tAanOm tanata dhiranA dhru dhru dAni tOmta dhiranA dhru dhru

anupallavi
tAnOm tanata dhira dhirana dhImta dhIm dhIm dhIm tanana dhirnA dhiranA
taddHim dhIm tanana dhirana dhIm tadhIm dhitLAm kiTatakajhaNu
takakiTa takajhaNutaka kiTataka jhaNutaka

caraNam
rAmanAthapura pAlakuDau muddu rAmalinga rAjEndra vibhuni abhi-
rAmijayamuga rakSincumi vArAhi rAjarAjEshvari shankari

shorkkaTTu
tAm takiTa nirisani taka dhimi taka jham gamadagA takiTa jhamtaka
tajham jham magari takiTa jham nidhapa tathaNa risamagari sanidha tadhingiNatOm

In the pallavi line, does "tAanOm tanata dhiranA" constitute the first avartanam?

Rsachi

Re: How to put thalam for this thillana?

Post by Rsachi »