Raga Sowrashtram

Rāga related discussions
Serpent

Raga Sowrashtram

Post by Serpent »

Hello!

I am a rock musician overall, and I know very little about CM. There is no teacher proficient in CM in our region, so the Internet is almost the only source. I'm also new to the just intonation, started practicing it recently. So I'm full of questions, and this one is the most actual for me now:

Can anyone provide some information on Raga Sowrashtram, beside just the arohana and avarohana scheme? I am most interested in the exact swaras that make up this raga. All that I know is a mention here: http://people.rit.edu/pnveme/ragaindex.html . The combination of Ekasruti Rishabha (R1) and Chyuta Madhyama Gandhara (G4) seems very odd to me, they do not sound good in a sequence, and that's no wonder, because their frequency ratio is extremely complex, 3^9 / 2^14. I tried to find which varieties of Rishabha and Gandhara form a consonant augmented second, and found the only one pair of R2 and G3, with the ratio of 75/64 (the same for D2 and N3 in the uttarangam). The pair of R1 and G3 or its equivalent of R2 and G4 is more complex and odd-sounding, and the pair of R1 and G4 is the worst of all! I wonder what might be the reason for choosing this very pair of Rishabha and Gandhara in this raga - maybe this unusually wide spacing has to be blurred by specific gamakas? Sadly, I know only one song in Sowrashtram, and not in an authentic performance. I only noticed that the G is sung like M-R in descending phrases. Also I cannot be sure which exact swaras should take Madhyama (Suddha or Tivra Suddha) and Dhaivata. What I'm trying to reconstruct according to the mentions of R1, G4 and N4 in the link above sounds really dissonant, but it was not so while still played in the tempered scale. If anyone knows the exact swaras and the way they should be performed, that would be of much help for me!

rajeshnat

Re: Raga Sowrashtram

Post by rajeshnat »

serpent