MS & Radha - Saga of Steadfast Devotion

Books on Carnatic Music and those for / by / on musicians.
arasi

Post by arasi »

When a friend asked me recently if this book written by Gowri Ramnarayanan is available in the US, I said I would get it for her on my next trip to India. I just came to know that one can get the book in the US now from Shankar Ramachandran: 614-891-8501 614-537-7574
Last edited by arasi on 26 Jun 2009, 19:51, edited 1 time in total.

ragam-talam

Post by ragam-talam »

Arasi, do you have a writeup on this book somewhere?

arasi

Post by arasi »

r_t,
I am not good at giving links. However, last December, the book was released by Manmohan Singh in Delhi, again in Chennai. All the newspapers covered the events. I started a thread on the Chennai event on the forum and you can get an idea.
This coffee table book is lovely. It is filled with precious photographs of the family and of MS's concerts and encounters with the great. Gowri Ramnarayan has given a moving account of the bond between the mother and daughters, family and friends.

cmlover

Post by cmlover »

I have only two words to say if you are a fan of the Great MS:
BUY IT!

gn.sn42

Post by gn.sn42 »

Another source for the book:

Sruti

cienu

Post by cienu »

r_t

A review in Business World in the link below.

http://www.businessworld.in/index.php/B ... Child.html

cmlover

Post by cmlover »

Thanks cienu for that Ref.
Nice to get a view from a reviewer's side!

arasi

Post by arasi »

An insightful review about a must-see, must-read book.

cmlover

Post by cmlover »

Also see
http://www.msstribute.org/bookrelease.php
You can order through the shruti portal!

ragam-talam

Post by ragam-talam »

cienu, thanks for the review link. Sounds like a very good read.
I have the book 'MS: A life in music' by TJS George, and found that quite interesting.

Will definitely add this one to my collection.
Also, Gowri Ramnarayan is an excellent writer.