Carnatic Music Quiz

To teach and learn Indian classical music
Varsha19

Carnatic Music Quiz

Post by Varsha19 »

Namaskaram Dear Rasikas,

I am new to rasikas.org, so this is my first post. I have previously organised some Quizzes on Carnatic Music, and here are some questions which have been taken. Those who are interested can please email their answers to me at- varshav1903@gmail.com . I will be posting quizzes like this every month or so, and I'd really like people to participate.

Please find the quiz questions given below -

1. What is special about the number 72 in Carnatic Music ?

2.This former Diamond Merchant composed a lot of the basic lessons and compositions that we all learn, and he is credited with creating all the Soolaadi Saptha Talams that we all learn. Whom are we talking about here ?

3. Muthuswamy Dikshitar’s brother Baluswami Dikshitar introduced a certain Western instrument in Carnatic music, which is seen in almost every concert. Which instrument is this ?

4. The kriti ‘Sri Venkata Girishamalokaye’, composed by Muthuswamy Dikshitar in the ragam Surutti, is about Lord Venkatesha of Tirupati. The lyrics of the Pallavi of this song are - ‘Sri Venkata Girishamaalokaye Vinayaka Turagaarudham’.Here, whom does Vinayaka refer to ?

5. In this famous composition of Thyagaraja, Lord Rama is described using his thousand names or the 'Rama Sahasranama' , but without even using a single verb. Which composition is this ?

6. Theoretically speaking, if Paras is Mayamalavagowlai without the Suddha Rishabam (R1) in the Arohanam, then what is Todi without the Suddha Rishabam (R1) in the Arohanam ?

7. Fill in the blank - Kambodhi, Harikambodhi, Yadukula Kambodhi, _______ kambodhi.

8. What is the name of the Lalgudi Pancharatnam in the ragam Bhairavi ?