Mridangam exercises

Miscellaneous topics on Carnatic music
Nethursan

Post by Nethursan »

Hi, I am a mridangam artist and i practice daily however i do realize i tighten my muscles when it comes to mekala sollus. i believe that is due to my workout routine but i have to do it since i have a dislocated shoulder i want to know if there is a way to not tighten my hands when playing sollus or not let it come tight or any other alternatives. thank you.

ganesh_mourthy

Post by ganesh_mourthy »

you could send this query to AMsharmaji who is also a mridhangist.

Nick H

Post by Nick H »

We have a number of professional mridangists among our members who may be able to offer help.

I would guess though, that it is necessary to see a player's posture and movements before being able to suggest changes.

Physiotherapy, yoga therapy, etc are all possibilities as well as help from musicians.

Nethursan

Post by Nethursan »

yes but instead of bugging a person about it i thought maybe others in the same situation could use some help so yes if you have any suggestions please leave it and if i believe that it should work i will try it thank you.

msakella

Post by msakella »

Dear brother-member, Nethursan, As our brother-member, ganesh_mourthy, put it I am not a professional Mridangist at all. At my younger age only I was playing Mridangam and later switched over to Vocal and lastly Violin as a musician. That is why I cannot give you any remedy not to tighten your hands. However, if you need and if you go through some of my postings here you can find some remedies in respect of strengthening your abilities of Laya. With best wishes, amsharma.

sankirnam

Post by sankirnam »

It's just a matter of practice, at least in my experience. The more you practice, the more confident you will be with the sollus, and then your muscles will naturally loosen.

Nick H

Post by Nick H »