Veena amplification methods - tips/options

Miscellaneous topics on Carnatic music
sunidhiarakere

Veena amplification methods - tips/options

Post by sunidhiarakere »

Good evening,

(I am new here so I am not sure what the appropriate forum to post this question would be.)

I am a student of the veena. While I usually stick to the acoustic, pure and natural sound and avoid any amplifiers as far as possible, some concerts necessitate the use of amplification and so I have been looking for alternatives to my method, which is the surface pick-up mic.
I find that with this pick-up, either the sound is very unsatisfactory or the four main strings are not amplified evenly, which results in an overall poor experience.
What in your opinion is the best method or device to use for amplification?

Manian

Re: Veena amplification methods - tips/options

Post by Manian »

This question should come after you have graduated to the level of playing a full fledged Kritis wthout error. Amplifiers attached to the Veea are not special kind . What you are asking is tone or frequency response differentiating amplification. That is, it should have separate connection one for each string like a clip on for each string. Now the market for such a device is very low and no one is going to spend money and time to produce a few hundreds. However if you can find a Master's level Electrical Engineering student from IIT or IISC., to work with you and he or she submits the result as a thesis, it can be done.